Men's Cross Country - Thu, Dec. 1, 2016 - posted by Seth Mikel
News Photo

2016 Daktronics NAIA Men's Cross Country Scholar-Athletes | TU Honors Page

KANSAS CITY – For the second-straight year, Taylor led all NAIA men's cross country programs with eight Daktronics NAIA Men's Cross Country Scholar-Athletes, as announced recently by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics.


In order to be eligible to be named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved junior academic status at their current institution. Taylor had eight of its 10 eligible student-athletes receive the honor.


Joseph Beamish, Stephen Cho, Tanner Dye, Jordan Florian, Matt Hall, Tyler Koteskey, Aaron Scott and Jonathan Taylor were among the 222 men's cross country student-athletes from around the nation to be named as 2016 NAIA Scholar-Athletes and were eight of the 30 student-athletes from the Crossroads League to be recognized.


Taylor's eight NAIA Scholar-Athletes topped the six award winners from Olivet Nazarene for the top spot in the nation and doubled the next-best total from the Crossroads League in Spring Arbor's four.


In addition to the success in the classroom, Taylor finished 18th overall at the NAIA National Championships for a third-straight top-20 finish on that stage and claimed second place at the Crossroads League Championships.