Football - Mon, Dec. 19, 2016 - posted by Seth Mikel
News Photo

2016 Daktronics NAIA Football Scholar-Athletes | TU Honors Page

KANSAS CITY – The Taylor University football team picked up nine 2016 Daktronics NAIA Football Scholar-Athlete awards on Monday, as announced by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics.


In order to be eligible to be named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have achieved junior academic status at their current institution and must be nominated by their head coach.


Wilson Alexander, Jacob Baker, Taylor Beam, Brandon Haan, Grant Hohlbein, Hans Lundberg, Caleb Nicley, Everett Pollard and Kyle Windebank were among the 325 football student-athletes from around the nation to be recognized as 2016 NAIA Scholar-Athletes.


In addition to the nine Scholar-Athlete nods, TU football has also hauled in 22 Academic All-MSFA awards, five CoSIDA Academic All-District selections and two CoSIDA Academic All-America honors for outstanding work in the classroom this year.


Taylor University has now had 38 student-athletes named as NAIA Scholar-Athletes this fall.

Record: 2-1 Home: 2-0 Away: 0-1 Neutral: 0-0 MSFA: 0-0