Men's Outdoor Track & Field - Tue, May 30, 2017 - posted by Seth Mikel
News Photo

2017 Daktronics NAIA Men's Track and Field Scholar-Athletes | TU Honors Page

KANSAS CITY – The Taylor men's track and field team ranked fourth in the nation with eight Daktronics NAIA Men's Track and Field Scholar-Athletes, as announced recently by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics.


In order to be named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved junior academic status at their current institution. Taylor had eight of its 13 eligible student-athletes receive the honor.


Joseph Beamish, Stephen Cho, Tanner Dye, Jordan Florian, Matt Hall, Tyler Koteskey, Aaron Scott and Jonathan Taylor were among the 316 men's track and field student-athletes from around the nation to be named as 2017 NAIA Scholar-Athletes and were eight of the 44 student-athletes from the Crossroads League to be recognized.


Taylor's eight NAIA Scholar-Athletes trailed only Corban's 11 and the nine from Indiana Tech and Northwestern for the highest total in the nation. TU led Grace's seven awards for the highest amount in the Crossroads League.


In addition to the success in the classroom, Taylor finished 15th overall at the NAIA Indoor National Championships, took 23rd at the NAIA Outdoor National Championships and produced six NAIA All-American honors during the 2016-2017 campaign.